Gmail adds the ability to restore contacts to a previous state

If you’re anything like me, you need Google contacts to keep track of the people you talk to. Ever since converting to an all Google lifestyle with the release of the G1, I’ve relayed solely on Gmail for contact management. And why shouldn’t you? It’s by far the fastest easiest way to keep your contacts up to date. Should you add one into your Android device, it shows up in your Gmail account, and vice versa. So what happens if you accidentally delete a contact from your Android device? Until now, it disappears from your Gmail account, and vice versa, never to be seen again. I say until now, because Google has officially added the ability to restore your contacts to a pervious state through Gmail.

“We’ve added a new feature to Google Contacts that allows you to revert your contact list and undo any mistakes made up to 30 days in the past. Let’s say you accidentally deleted a bunch of contacts or wiped the contact data from your Gmail account by mistake while syncing to another device. Visit Gmail’s Contacts section, select “Restore contacts” in the “More actions” menu, and choose the time you would like to revert to.”

Certainly takes some pressure off eh? I know I feel better. If you have any horror stories, feel free to share in the comments below.

Via BGR

Tags: